ITIL Foundation

The IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a library of volumes describing a framework of best practices for delivering IT services. The ITIL has gone through several revisions and currently comprises five books, each covering various processes and stages of the IT service life-cycle. The ITIL, currently ITIL v3, focuses on business and IT integration, and ITIL certifications can be earned at five levels. ITIL’s systematic approach to IT service management can help businesses manage risk, strengthen customer relations, establish cost-effective practices, and build a stable IT environment that allows for growth, scale, and change.

The ITIL Foundation is the entry level qualification which offers a general awareness of the key elements, concepts, and terminology used in the ITIL Service Life-cycle, including the links between Life-cycle stages, the processes used, and their contribution to Service Management practices.

The certification can be taken by anyone who wants to learn about ITIL processes and there are no eligibility criteria. ITIL foundation acts as a prerequisite to take other level exams. This enables individuals to start their career path in the IT profession. It is aimed at delivering the following:

  • Basics of ITIL framework including objectives, scope, and benefits
  • How ITIL helps in improving ITSM
  • Why is ITIL necessary
  • ITIL best practices

Course Outline

Lesson 1: Service Management Defined

  • IT services and what they really do
  • How IT services deliver value to customers
  • Value and importance of IT service management

Lesson 2: ITIL Introduction

  • Good practices
  • Ease ITIL adoption
  • ITIL qualification scheme, bodies, and certifications

Lesson 3: Service Strategy

  • Design, develop and implement service management
  • Service management as a strategic asset
  • Setting objectives and expectations
  • Identify and select prioritization opportunities

Lesson 4: Service Design

  • Design and develop services
  • Develop processes
  • Design principles and methods
  • Convert strategy into services

Lesson 5: Service Transition

  • Develop and improve capabilities
  • Improved methods for transitioning new and changed services into operation
  • Manage the complexity related to changes
  • Prevent undesired results while enabling innovation

Lesson 6: Service Operation

  • Effectively and efficiently deliver support services
  • Ensure value to customer and service provider
  • Maintain stability while allowing for change
  • Organize to improve IT support to customers

Lesson 7: Continual Service Improvement

  • Create and maintain value for customers
  • Importance of better design, introduction, and operation of services
  • Improving service quality, business continuity, and IT efficiency
  • Link improvement efforts to strategy, design, and transition

Lesson 8: Exam-Taking Tips

  • Important techniques to help you pass your exam

Have the skills and knowledge of planning, protection, and optimization needed to design new or updated services for your business, as well as tips on how to pass the related ITIL Intermediate exam.